Why Reading Your Litigation PowerPoint Slides Hurts Jurors

by Ken Lopez
Founder/CEO
A2L Consulting

I was just painfully reminded of how bad a juror’s experience can be when we fail to put them first. Yesterday morning, like many of you recently, I had to complete a continuing education course. It was your typical recorded one-hour one-credit online course. That’s one of the slides pictured here.

While listening to the instructor, it struck me that the experience I was having was eerily similar to most opening statements. It lasted about an hour, 119 PowerPoint slides were presented, there were lots of bullet points, almost no actual graphics were used, and the content of the slides was dutifully read to me by a well-spoken middle-aged gentleman.

And it nearly killed me.

You see, even though I have a law degree, I am much more like a typical juror than a typical lawyer. When someone presents to me with the intent of persuading and/or teaching me something, I expect a lot, and boy did this presentation fail to deliver.

Why does reading your litigation PowerPoint slides really cause a problem for people?

Read more here:

http://www.a2lc.com/blog/bid/69473/Why-Reading-Your-Litigation-PowerPoint-Slides-Hurts-Jurors?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+a2lc+%28The+Litigation+Consulting+Report+from+A2L+Consulting%29

do not read powerpoint slides jury

 

Leave a Reply

